A quick rave: Stila’s Color Balm Lipstick in Maya

DW-DSCN5269I just wanted to do a quick shout out slash I-heart-you-too-quick-but-I-do-sorry! to Stila’s Color Balm in Maya. I was, yet again, perusing Rustan’s Beauty Source the other day for powder foundation but I stumbled onto this. (A quick sidenote: they have Stila single eyeshadows on sale for around 200 bucks each!) It dawned on me, that despite constant visits to Stila counters, I’ve never swatched this particular product. And swatched I did.  The Color Balm line had around 16 or more shades to choose from but I immediately fell for Maya, described as a terracotta shade.

Dw-DSCN5276Formula is creamy and very pigmented; it has what I think is a choco-mint scent which I’m personally nuts about.  It also has a nice cooling sensation on the lips (and so if you’re not into that, you might not like this. I have to say that it doesn’t last the whole time you wear it though.) You can probably compare this to those Revlon lip butters but I haven’t really tried those.  Despite its creaminess, it lasts a good deal. I wore this during the first day of the Dutdutan Tattoo Convention, talking to a lot of people and drinking a lot (of water, not beer haha) and it stayed on!  Like most creamy formulas, however, it probably won’t last after a meal. Application is a breeze though; if only it weren’t highly pigmented I would’ve said you could apply this without a mirror, but it’s best to at least check in the mirror.

I dab this on my lips for a more subtle color; I swipe it all over for more color intensity.  Or, I do both, which I think increases the longevity of the product.

DW-DSCN5272This has been a staple in my makeup bag since I got it–this is such a quick, convenient and comfortable solution for lazy girls like me.  And now I’m actually tempted to get more.

Have you tried this product? Any other color suggestions? 🙂

 

 

3 thoughts on “A quick rave: Stila’s Color Balm Lipstick in Maya

  1. Pingback: September Favorites! | dandelion whiskers

Leave a Reply

