Diptyque’s Oyedo

DSCN4326

“This eau de toilette is named after the city of Edo, the former name of Tokyo, where very fresh scents, structured upon citrus fruit, such as yuzu (multifaceted cousin to the lime), were very much in demand. It recalls a citrus orchard on the shores of the Pacific. A fresh scent, yes, but also distinguished and joyous, warmed by sun-drenched thyme.”

This post is an ode to my favorite Diptyque fragrance (not that I have a lot, actually I only have two): Oyedo. This is the most interestingly pleasant scent I’ve smelled in my life, sweet and slightly citrusy and fig-gy, if that makes sense at all. I know I won’t be able to describe the scent intelligently at all, but apparently it has notes of yuzu, grapefruit, lime, orange, mint, thyme, and woods. I’ve read quite a number of reviews against it, but I personally love it.Β  Will you understand me when I say that this scent smiles? There are some scents that are lovely, but seem aloof, this one is friendly, it smiles. It lingers a long time on me, too.

I think I’ve confused you even more now. But honestly, try and take a whiff of this one at the Diptyque counters in Rustan’s, see it smiles. πŸ™‚

 

2 thoughts on “Diptyque’s Oyedo

Leave a Reply

