Not another red!

DW-DSCN4158I finally gave in and got Nars’ Velvet Matte Lip Pencil in Cruella which I have been coveting for ages. I’ve been loving Lime Crime’s Velvetines in Red Velvet but it just isn’t an on-the-go kinda product. You really have to slow down, be precise and neat with those and lately I just haven’t had the time. Also, Mupstore has these available for Php1,000 while Nars boutiques sells them for Php1,450 and currently do not have Matte Lip Pencils available! (All they have are the Satin Lip Pencils for now.)

DW-DSCN4160

DW-DSCN4162Now this is weird, I just checked the Nars website and their Velvet Matte Lip Pencil page does not have Cruella in it anymore. Are they discontinuing this? Gasp. I hope my suspicions aren’t true! Maybe I’m being paranoid?

DW-DSCN4164Cruella is a matte, cool-toned (whitens teeth, yay), medium dark red. This is a classic red, perfect for almost everyone. I’m thinking this could very well be on my HG but it’s honestly too soon to tell, but off the bat, I’m really loving the texture, the formula, the pigmentation and staying power of it.  It is matte but glides on very easy on the lips.

DW-DSCN4169Here are some reds I have with me right now, for you to compare and contrast where Cruella is exactly in the range, and I feel like you can get a sense of their textures here, too.

From L-R, here you go: Lime Crime Carousel Gloss in Candy Apple, Etude House in No. 5, Make Silk Lipstick in Radicchio, Sleek True Colour Sheen Lipstick in Cherry, Lime Crime Velvetines in Red Velvet (which dries down really matte), and finally, Nars Velvet Matte Lip Pencil in Cruella.

And while I don’t have a decent photo of me wearing Cruella, here’s a photo of my with the band Flying Ipis, during the HOHOL event last Saturday where I tattooed two of them. Here is Cruella in tact, under not-so-ideal lighting, after a couple of hours tattooing two clients.

Yes, I am very tiny. Hahahaha.

What are your favorite reds?

Nars is cruelty-free. But owned by a non-CF company, I think.

 

5 thoughts on “Not another red!

  1. my favorite reds would be MAC’s charmed i’m sure lippie from the marilyn monroe collection and my guerlain liquid lipstick in colere!

    i’ve always wanted to try nars lip pencil but find having to sharpen it such a waste of money. 😦 hehe

    • Ooh i’ve never tried anything from guerlain! I was worried about wasting product by sharpening the nars lip pencil, too, but now im a convert, i think. i am really partial to the formula of this one, the way it glides!

  2. Aww, I love this! My MAC Viva Glam I used to be #1 in my heart but when I discovered Cruella, they’ve been sharing that spot since 🙂 I’m glad you love it too! Cruella-fans unite XX lol!

  3. Pingback: December and January Favorites! | dandelion whiskers

Leave a Reply

