Christmas came early: Unboxing the Hourglass Ambient Lighting Palette

I wanted to contain myself, to gather my composure or even wait for better natural light as it is already past 5PM but I couldn’t. I just couldn’t.

My Hourglass Ambient Lighting Palette just arrived!

DW-DSCN3505I ordered this a month ago or so via an Instagram seller, @nicolettemakeup. Follow her if you can! I think her prices are really good, I saw another IG store that sold the palette for Php4750 I think, but I got this palette from @nicolettemakeup for Php2950. She also sent me a sample sachet of Smashbox Photofinish Foundation Primer, yay!

I’ve always been curious about Hourglass Ambient Lighting powders and the whole beauty blogging and vlogging world has raved about them but I’ve always craved at least a touch, a swatch of any of those shades. The descriptions to all the available shades sound…delectable…making it impossible to choose only one. And also, the single powders can be really pricey.

So I was really glad to hear about this Ambient Lighting palette that houses two of their regular shades and 1 limited edition shade.  The box also comes with a sample bottle of their famous Veil Mineral Primer, which I’ve always been curious about as well.

DW-DSCN3512The Ambient Lighting Palette is limited edition, and I heard that stocks have just run out! I’m relieved I got my hands on it.  These powders are complicated, in a great way, I think. If you are ever to shell out a lot on something, I think you should spend it on something as unique as this. A lot have described it as a setting powder “of sorts”, but some shades are apparently good as either highlighters or contouring powders which I suppose are dependent on your skin tone. I guess the reason why it has been difficult to really explain how these powders are is because it’s probably a whole new thing on its own.  At least, that’s what I gather. Hourglass describes these powders as “high-tech, soft-focus finishing powder[s] that features state-of-the-art technology to recreate the most exquisitely flattering types of light”. Basically, the finish that these powders give your skin are supposed to mimic the effect of really good lighting–and I’m all about that.

DW-DSCN3515Packaging is exquisite; it comes in a sleek and sturdy case (with a wide mirror, too) although mine came with minor scratches which I suspect are from the very looong travel from Sephora to me.

DW-DSCN3519To be honest, I thought they were going to be more satin-y to the touch than they actually feel, like maybe the feel of buttery eyeshadows or something (they feel rougher than I anticipated) but it’s all good. I assumed too much.

DW-DSCN3522

Dim Light is an existing shade. It is “a neutral peach beige powder that blurs imperfections and highlights a radiant complexion with the perfect balance of warm and cool tones.”  Among the three shades, this feels most satin-y and actually does look really satin-y, if you know what I mean.

Incandescent Light is a limited edition shade, exclusive only to this palette. It is “a pearlescent powder that highlights the cheekbones and brightens the complexion with a celestial glow.”  It has a subtle shimmer to it and has the lightest hue among the three.

Radiant Light is another shade from the regular line. It is “a sun-kissed golden beige that enhances the overall complexion with believable, subtle warmth, and also extends a summer glow.” It has a subtle shimmer with hints of gold which I think will be perfect for my current complexion, that is, slightly tan.

I have a good feeling that I’ll be liking loving this palette although don’t count that as a review just yet. I immediately applied the three powders on my face and I must say, I saw a difference right away. I took photos but I feel like they don’t justify the vast improvement it did on my current skin tone and condition (which is very slightly tan and rather dry and patchy lately, by the way). Also I got home 4am from yet another allnighter/early morning drinky session. Oh holidays, the things you cause to my skin.

ANYWAY. I am beyond excited to use these and I will definitely let you know how it goes soon! Yay!

Hourglass Cosmetics is cruelty-free.

9 thoughts on “Christmas came early: Unboxing the Hourglass Ambient Lighting Palette

  1. Pingback: My 2013 favorites! | dandelion whiskers

  2. Pingback: December and January Favorites! | dandelion whiskers

  3. Pingback: May Favorites! | dandelion whiskers

Leave a Reply

