An updated skincare routine.

Happy September! I feel like it’s been too long since my last Skincare post, and although nothing major has changed, here you go!

I never used to care so much about skin care because well I WAS young and was sort of lucky to have had relatively good skin.  In highschool I don’t think I ever got pimples–although I should probably credit that to living in a town that wasn’t polluted.  I think I got my first pimple in college, when I moved here in Manila. I blame pollution and the stress of city life. And now I’m nearing 30, my skin isn’t as pure as it once was and I’ve developed a routine that sort of really works for me.  I’m open to more suggestions though!

DW-DSCN1968IN THE SHOWER.

I alternate between Avalon Organics Vitamin C Renewal Cleansing Gel and St. Ives Naturally Clear Green Tea Scrub. The Avalon Organics one is just ok–I just like it a lot for the scent. It smells like orange popsicles, Twin Popsies, to be more specific! My favorite local popsicle of all time. It reminds me of hot summer days by the beach. Having said that though, this is probably one of the things in this list that I wouldn’t necessarily recommend to you guys–unless you’re really into orange popsicle as I am.  I most especially won’t recommend this to those with sensitive skin.  The first time I used this, my face ended up really red and it stung me! And I don’t even have sensitive skin! It doesn’t sting my skin anymore though, so I don’t know what happened there.  It does make my feel skin squeaky clean.

Like I said I alternate that with my favorite drugstore face scrub, St. Ives Naturally Clear Green Tea Scrub. I like this more than their Apricot version.  This one has little beads that I feel are gentler than the Apricot ones. This also seems to slough away dead skin better!  The downside of this is that the newer versions of this scrub no longer state that they are cruelty-free–so…they’re not anymore.  My plan is to horde all the older versions I see–I’m thinking maybe Somera in Glorietta still has those?

And then…you’re probably wondering why I have a huge ass bottle of Apple Cider Vinegar there. It wasn’t a mistake, it’s really in my bathroom, for skincare (and detoxification) purposes. Apple Cider Vinegar (ACV) has a plethora of beauty benefits.  First, as part of a mask I concoct every now and then.  Not in the photo are honey and oats, which I mix with ACV.  I swear it’s so good. This will sound really weird, but I mix a teaspoon or two of ACV to a liter of water and that’s what I drink the whole day.  I am from La Union and it’s a thing there, we’re sort of realllly realllyyy into vinegar, so drinking anything that tastes like vinegar is not a big deal to me (I actually looove it a lot).  If it is to you though, try adding honey to the drink. ACV helps whiten teeth, it can be a mouthwash, it prevents breakouts  and minimizes blemishes. ACV detoxifies! Anyway, if you want to know more, here’s a post I found.

 

DW-DSCN1970PREPPING.

After bathing,I tone my face with Etude House’s Wonder Pore Freshner which, true to its word, makes me skin feel really fresh. I also have a little spray bottle with this that I lug around, just to mist myself with on extra hot days.

I then dab Be Fine Food Skin Care Eye Brightening Treatment under my eyes–a new addition to the routine! This is my first eye cream ever so I don’t really have much basis for comparison just yet. If you have any CF eye creams you’d like to recommend, please let me know!

I also slather on Bloom Organics Hydrating Facial Moisturiser with Moroccan Argan Oil and Rose Water all over my face and neck. This stuff’s not mind blowing or anything; but I do like switching moisturizers every now and then, plus, this is CF!  I absolutely love how this smells though.  I’m a big fan of rose scented anything, and this one smells of rose.  I say steer clear of this if you abhor anything rose scented or floral for that matter.

After my skin absorbs all that moisturizing goodness, I dab on Etude House’s CC Cream in Glow all over my face.  I  make sure to use the product sparingly; using even a pea-sized amount per section of the face may cause you to have a ghastly whitish cast. I’ve reviewed this before and I really think this has made my skin look really nice and fresh.

DW-DSCN1972AT NIGHT/PRE-SLEEP.

I take off my makeup with Bio PHA Organic’s Make-up Removal Lotion for Face and Eyes with a cotton pad. Sometimes if I feel like my skin needs extra freshening, I’ll tone my face with the Pore Freshner again. Before I go to sleep, I dab my face with Moroccan Argan Oil and I wake up with a well moisturized face.  I also feel like this lighten any acne scars. I put this on my hair, too, but that’s a different story.

Any skincare tips you’d like to share?

 

Leave a Reply

