Unboxing & first impressions: Make Colour!

DW-DSCN1826

I woke up this morning to good news: I got a text message from Johnny Air, I had a package waiting to be picked up at their Aguirre branch. I normally don’t order stuff online–for starters, I don’t have a credit card (I highly doubt my self-restraint). But then I heard about BPI’s Prepaid Cards! If you don’t like having a credit card or hate the hassle of applying for one or whatever reason you don’t have one, but need to buy something online, then it’s the card to have. You basically fill up a form online, claim it any branch you prefer, deposit money in branch to ‘load’ credits, then order what you want online! And then I found out about another  service from Johnny Air, where you can use their credit card, and pay them instead for any item you want to order abroad! You just give them the link of the item you need/want and they order it for you and ship it, too! Man am I in trouble! I foresee so many shipments in my future. (So basically, I just shared all this info to you so  I won’t be the only one in trouble! Heehee.)

ANYWAY.  It was my birthday and I finally ordered that tattoo machine I’ve always had my eyes on, but then I thought maybe it would be a better idea to purchase other stuff I’ve always wanted, too, to save on the shipping costs. There’s a looooong story in between this and the end of this paragraph, but here’s the ending: basically I had some delays with the tattoo machine shipment, so this package, the supposed ‘etcetera’ to my orders, arrived first. And it’s certainly cheering me up, despite my tattoo machine woes. Honestly, it’s making me very happy today, so happy I almost want to type the whole post in CAPS LOCK FROM HEREOOOON!

But I won’t! Haha because it’ll drive me crazy. Here it is, love from weseebeauty’s Make Colours!

DW-DSCN1827DW-DSCN1829It’s not how you look, it’s how you see.

My first glimpse of Make Colour was in a Birchbox unboxing video by Leigh Ann, and then I read about it again through Carina and my mind was blown. Make Colour has all the elements of what I want, what I need in a cosmetic brand: good quality, unique colours, a good story behind the brand, cruelty-free products, great packaging.

To explain it more coherently, here’s their story, from their website.

“We See Beauty is a for-benefit marketplace of ideas, stories and products that support the cooperative movement. A movement that believes that through shared ownership we can establish a more equitable and beautiful society for all. We believe in starting local with the hope that these ideas spread globally. By selling beautiful ideas and products, including MAKE – the first for-benefit brand of We See Beauty – we can empower local economies and strengthen communities, starting with our own in New York.”

DW-DSCN1831

DW-DSCN1834

DW-DSCN1837The well-curated package came with three beautiful postcard prints–these will be hung on my inspiration wall for sure.

DW-DSCN1839My orders.

DW-DSCN1850DW-DSCN1856DW-DSCN1863Make Silk Cream Lipstick in Radicchio, “an intense brick with red undertones”.

DW-DSCN1864DW-DSCN1866DW-DSCN1869DW-DSCN1872DW-DSCN1873

The Medieval Palette–a beautiful selection of four eyeshadows and four lipsticks from the Faye Toogood collection.  Eyeshadows are ‘Darkness’ and ‘Cast Iron’,  described as ‘moody grays’, ‘Woad’ is a ‘smoke’ colour (which is actually is a deep, deep blue), and ‘Ultramarine’, a cool blue shade.   The four matte lipsticks in the palette are ‘Magma’ (a bright orange),  ‘Nude’ and ‘Putty’ are described as ‘everyday neutrals’ and ‘Rust’ characterized as an ‘autumnal hue’.  What drew me to this palette is its uniqueness.  Other than the orange lipstick, I don’t think I’ve ever worn, or seen people use brown lipsticks nowadays (at least not in real life), and I haven’t really worn those kinds of eyeshadow shades ever (at least not in real life scenarios anyway, I possibly may have worn those to photo shoots of yore). These aren’t shades you see everyday! As ‘bold’ as my move was, I second guessed myself after ordering–what I going to be able to pull these off? What was I thinking?

The swatches that will come in a bit will answer those queries.

Before that though, the shipment came with three samples, all of which I chose!

DW-babysamplesI chose two matte eyeshadows: purple sage and cement.

DW-DSCN1843DW-DSCN1882DW-DSCN1883I also got a wee baby lipstick sample called Taffy, the packaging of which, I can’t get enough of!

THE SWATCHES.

DW-DSCN1896From L-R: Ultramarine, Woad, Cast Iron, Darkness. They feel very velvety, not powdery at all, and if you notice, no fallout/crumby bits! As a sidenote though,  Cast Iron isn’t matte at all, there is some sparkle on it, but seems to be barely noticeable. These were swatched lightly–and look at that pigmentation!

DW-DSCN1878Cement Matte Eyeshadow ( I am loving this one so much).

DW-DSCN1880Purple Sage Matte eyeshadow (can’t wait to try a Style Nanda-inspired look with this one!)

DW-DSCN1901Lip colors from L-R: Putty, Rust, Nude, Magma, Radicchio and Taffy. Their ‘matte’ lipsticks aren’t as matte as I know matte lipsticks to be, but they feel very moisturizing for matte lipsticks! My initial fear of the ‘wearability’ of the other shades (in the Medieval Palette) have been tamed–these shades look definitely wearable! I am in love with each and every shade, if that’s possible. Radicchio, could possibly be my new go-to red lipstick (because Revlon just won’t stop testing on animals–my previous go-to red was Revlon’s Really Red)! This is exactly the shade of red I’ve been looking for–others I’ve tried have either been too deep or too blue-toned or too pink–this is perfect, the me-kind of red! Taffy is gorgeous as well! Now that I think of it, I could very well have ordered an almost complete variety of lipstick tones! All formulas appear to be very creamy and non-sticky.  As for first impressions, I’m even more excited to use these now!

Make Colour products are not tested on animals, are paraben-free, fragrance-free and are hypoallergenic.

Have you tried any products from Make? Let me know! 🙂

11 thoughts on “Unboxing & first impressions: Make Colour!

  1. Ugh, why did I have to read about the BPI prepaid and Johnny Air ordering service?!? Hehe anyway, what a beautiful box! Excited to see them on you. 🙂

  2. Pingback: An impossibly late Lipstick Week post number 6: The search for the new red. | dandelion whiskers

Leave a Reply

