Lipstick Week 1 episode 1: an ode to my most favorite drugstore lipstick brand and what I’ve been wearing almost everyday now since I got it.

Very exciting week indeed. I was tagged by the lovely Carina of Softly to take part of Lipstick Week (wherein I have to talk about lipstick for seven posts), which I think will be my favorite week ever because I don’t know if you know, but lipsticks are my favorite makeup products.

I want to kick start this whole week by reviewing, as mentioned in the title, my favorite drugstore lipstick, and in a particular, shade I never thought I wanted but now love: Wet ‘n Wild’s Smokin Hot Pink.

DW-DSCN0208

But before the specifics on Smokin Hot Pink though, here’s a brief history (in pictures) of my romance with Wet ‘n Wild lipsticks.

My favorite nude lipstick ever: 903C Just Peachy. It’s a nude lipstick that’s not too nude–it has the perfect hint of peach in it. This photo was taken more than a year ago at a friend’s beach wedding.

DW-Justpeachy

Then there’s 908C Sugar Plum Fairy, which I wore at my exhibit last October–so please excuse the butt beside me! Hahahaha. If you want to see more of the pieces we made for that exhibit though, check here! πŸ™‚ Anyway, Sugar Plum Fairy is a gorgeous deep deep deep plum shade that I absolutely adore and I think it makes me look different, too, but in a nice way. At least I hope it’s in a nice way. I think I look slightly different in this photo and the one above!

DW-Sugarplumfairy

So the other day I found myself in the beauty section of the department store (again) . I was really on my way to go get my hands on a matte red Smashbox lipstick (it turns out, smashbox isn’t CF anymore! Thanks for the info Carina!) but I passed thru the WnW stall and inevitably swatched some lipsticks and I couldn’t get my mind off this color. I walked around, went home and went back to get it.

DW-DSCN0209DW-DSCN0212Smokin’ Hot Pink is an ‘un-prissy’ pink if you ask me, and I love it. It’s a tough looking kinda pink, a no-nonesense pink. It’s bold but not trying to be in your face, if you know what I mean. I’ve always sort of shied away from pink lipsticks before because a number of them looked too girly or barbie-ish (actually that was the point in most cases…but I had the most horrifying Barbie nightmare when I was 3 or 4 which remains vivid in my memory up to now! In that nightmare, a giant Barbie tore our roof open and was going to eat me! Seriously!), which never coincided with any look IΒ  may have been going for.

I think it’s a warm-toned pink but I could be wrong—I just noticed that cooler tones never look good on me, even on swatches. It sort of reminds me of the Mac Iris Apfel Party Parrot lipstick, which I never got my hands on but always loved, based on other people’s swatches.

The WnW website states thatΒ  “..this 4-hour, longwearing lip color leaves a semi-matte, crΓ¨me finish in one stroke. Glides on easily with rich, velvety color that doesn’t cake, feather, or bleed. Made with hydrating skin-care ingredients: Hyaluronic Microspheres provide extraordinary adhesion to lips, an exclusive polymer complex offers cushion-like feel and texture, and natural marine plant extracts Coenzyme Q10 and Vitamins A & E help smooth lips.”

As long as you exfoliate regularly, I don’t find that it dries the lips.Β  It goes on creamy actually, and with really good pigmentation.Β  These lipsticks are not shy!Β  It also stays on a loooong time. I have never timed the duration of these lipsticks but I do the dab and blot technique, and I feel that this also helps in the staying power of the lipstick.

Here’s how Smokin’ Hot Pink looks on me.

DW-DSCN0318Did I mention these are super affordable? WnW lipsticks are available from Php148-Php250, depending on where you purchase it. A number of facebook stores carry it (like this one, for example, who sells it really cheap I think!) but I just buy mine at SM Department Stores.Β  Have you tried WnW lipsticks? I hope you like them as much as I do!

10 thoughts on “Lipstick Week 1 episode 1: an ode to my most favorite drugstore lipstick brand and what I’ve been wearing almost everyday now since I got it.

  1. I love how you can wear this as a stain and it’ll stay put all day! I have this in Coraline and Mauve it Over and I plan on getting Stoplight Red and Rosebud next. I know a preorder site that sells these for really cheap if you’re interested. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

