The Good Girl’s Makeup Starter Kit: Tinted Moisturizers/BB Cream

I know it’s still a month and a couple weeks more til June, when school starts here, but I could not wait to post this one.  This is dedicated to all my inaanaks (goddaughters)/cousins/friends who are about to start school or well, basically just wanting to start exploring the wonderful world of makeup. Although there are many  cruelty free drugstore options available internationally, I am only posting those that are available in the Philippines.

Ladies and gents, this is the Good Girl’s Makeup Starter Kit: the most affordable and cruelty-free makeup options you have to have in your very first makeup kit. (However, I’m drafting another post on non-drugstore options, too! For another day, though.) Students, gather round.  I am starting this series according to how I apply makeup.

Tinted Moisturizer/ BB Cream.

Apply on a clean face, right after you’ve cleansed and toned.  Tinted moisturizers are your safest bets, as you really need to moisturize everyday anyway, and the tint gives you a hint of coverage.

E.L.F. and Wet n Wild  Tinted Moisturizers both have SPF in them, and are both lightweight. I repeat, they provide only a hint of color.  You can wear these as is or you can opt to add BB cream on top of it. Fair warning though, if your skin is on the oily side, dust powder on top of this! It can get greasy (based on my experience with the ELF one) depending on the weather and skin type. The ELF tinted moisturizer goes for Php125, while the Wet and Wild One goes for Php390. They are mostly available at Watson’s and at SM Department Stores’ Beauty Sections.

BB Creams on the other hand, vary from light coverage (mostly American ones) to high coverage (a lot of Asian ones). I actually recommend this a lot more than the tinted moisturizers mentioned above.  To read more on BB creams, here’s a wikipedia link! 🙂  Basically though, BB creams are supposed to be a multipurpose face cream: a moisturizer, a primer, foundation, sunblock.  I really really recommend bb creams to makeup babies (newbies!).   Sleek is a cruelty-free brand and there have been a lot of good reviews on this Blemish Balm.  For starters, it has a good selection of shades, from light to dark–a stark contrast from most Asian BB cream selections.  Although it claims to be full coverage, I don’t think that it is, but that is a good thing for me and for the purposes of this post.  It goes on natural on me, like my skin but better! It has SPF 15.  This bb cream goes on for Php595 to 650. This is available at The Ramp, Crossings and at Digital Traincase.

Stay tuned for the next part, concealers! 🙂 Are there any more drugstore cruelty-free tinted moisturizers and bb creams you’d like to share?

2 thoughts on “The Good Girl’s Makeup Starter Kit: Tinted Moisturizers/BB Cream

  1. I wish I had BB cream back in high school! My mom wouldn’t let me have any foundation since I was too young, so tinted moisturizer was the next best thing. 🙂

Leave a Reply

