For your reference, 20 cruelty-free options.

So the other day I found myself in the beauty section at the department store yet again and I got to swatch these L’Oreal Rouge Caresse Nutrishine Lipsticks (or whatever it’s called, suuuuch a looong name, so confusing) and I was surprised that I like how they looked! I loved how they look and it was weird because I was never one to go for glossy lip products.  Satin finishes, I can handle, matte finishes I love, glosses almost never. I took note of the shades I loved and went back home and researched.  I really wanted these babies! And then I stumbled onto a blog and although the review was good, there was little statement that caught me off guard. Her review was something like, “as much as I want to repurchase these, I just found out that L’Oreal tests on animals…” and of course my heart is crushed.

Please believe me when I say I don’t want to sound preachy or anything, I seriously don’t want to be! But I remembered something I was thinking about the other day, something along the lines of, if I’m really going to get into make up (as if I haven’t really gone into it yet), I might as  well support brands that do a conscious effort of not being cruel. So this means, I’m about to say goodbye to L’Oreal (even if I absolutely love your foundation! Huhu)–but take note that I still plan to finish the bottle I have, no sense in throwing one out without finishing it.  And possibly even Revlon and Cover Girl…must research on that, because this whole issue is still pretty hazy to me, and stuff I’ve researched has been a bit confusing..

BUT! I stumbled onto a bunch of sites (like this and this)  that have listed brands (a lot of them are really good actually) that are cruelty free, if not vegan. So my glass is half full! Yay! Here are some brands I want to be friends with, if not are already friends with! (*Please take note that some blogs I research listed some brands as cruelty-free, but the company as not, and I found that it varies per blog!  It is pretty confusing, so I just listed brands that are in the absolutely safe zone, those I found that are in the good zone for all blogs I researched.)

1. E.L.F., a brand I frequent in SM Department Stores. I like their brushes, contour/blush duos.

2. NYX is a brand I haven’t really tried thoroughly.  If you read my last post, I wasn’t too into their lip cremes but I am very interested in their eyeliners and eyeshadows! I heard they have good foundations, too. Everyone has basically raved about them, except me.  So I have to try them out, especially now, with this whole agenda.

3. Lime Crime, a fun fun fun cosmetics company that claims that “Most of our products are formulated without any animal-derived ingredients and are therefore suitable for vegans. Eyeshadow Helper does contain beeswax, making it our only non-vegan product. As a company who promotes kindness and compassion towards animals, we strive to continue developing vegan-friendly cosmetics so that everyone can feel beautiful!” I got one gloss kind of thing from them that I haven’t really used much of, but I was always eyeing their eyeliners too.

4. Illamasqua, a brand I’ve always wanted to try but never really had the budget for hahaha (because as we all mostly are, poor in managing shopping expenses).  Oh those lipsticks!! Their website declares: “Illamasqua products have NEVER and will NEVER be tested on animals.”  and that “…Illamasqua and the third parties we work with do not conduct or commission animal testing on our products, or the ingredients used in these products. Additionally, our range of make-up brushes are made entirely out of synthetic hair.”

5. Obsessive Compulsive Cosmetics is one of the more popularly vegan cosmetic companies and I’ve always wanted to try.  I’m glad they’re sold in local multiply shops.   Those lip tars! I also love their writeup: “In a time when many cosmetic companies make the claim that their products are “Cruelty Free” simply because Animal Testing has become unfashionable and less cost-effective, OCC felt it was necessary to raise the bar on this issue. We pledge never to use animal-derived ingredients (including Lanolin, Beeswax, Carmine and more) in our products and accessories. Beyond any personal convictions, we simply believe that it’s unnecessary, especially when there are alternatives that are just as readily available, and equally effective in the formulation of our products. Further, you need not necessarily be aligned with animal rights issues to reap the benefits of a vegan cosmetic line: animal ingredients can be amongst the most allergenic and skin reactive, and prevent makeup from being considered Kosher, Halal or otherwise compliant with various dietary (and sanitary!) regulations.”

6.  Essence, a brand I’ve been very fond of lately. (I just bought an eyeliner from them that day I perused the L’Oreal counter too, but we’ll talk about that next time!)  Take note that they are cruelty-free but not vegan.

7. Flormar does not test on animals but is not vegan, too. I’ve been wanting to test out their lipsticks, seeing that they have a looot of shades.

8. Wet ‘n Wild, one of my favorite drugstore brands. WnW is PETA-certified and cruelty-free.  Most of their products are vegan, but not entirely.

9. The Body Shop, which has always been there and I honestly usually go to it for body butters and oils, never really for makeup but I shall definitely try them out! They have a good skin care line, too I think.

10. Urban Decay is a cruelty-free brand, and when you see a purple paw on the product you have, it means it is vegan! I personally never have tried any Urban Decay product (yes, I don’t have a Naked Palette! Or the primer! Or the 24/7 eyeliners, all of which I covet! Huhu.)

11. Too Faced, a lovely brand! It is not completely vegan but they absolutely do not test on animals.  Here is a list of their vegan products, though: Amazing Face SPF 15 Powder Foundation (all), Absolutely Flawless Concealer (all), Beauty Balm (all), Borderline Anti-Feathering Lip Pencil, Brightening Blush (Mochi Mi Amore), Brow-ney Pencils (all), Sun Bunny, Chocolate Soleil (all), Galaxy Glam (all), Duo Eye Shadows (Ooh & Aah, Fantasy Island, Skinny Dip, Lucky Charms, Shamrock Chic, Rich Bitch), Exotic Colors (Nice Stems!, Cop a Teal, Firefly, Frilly Lily, Petals to the Metal, Midnight Mist, Poison Orchid, Enchanted Garden, Night Nymph, Violet Femme), Foiled Liners (Bronze Bombshell, Black Beauty), Full Bloom Creme (Prim & Poppy, Tea Rose), Full Bloom Powder (Sweet Pink, Coca Rose), Glamour Dust (Blue Angel), Leopard Love (Candy Leopard, Peach Leopard), Lip Injection, Lip Injection Super Size, Lip Injection Extreme, Lip Insurance, Liquif-Eye, Liquid Lava Eyeliner – Lava Matte, Long-Stemmed Lashes, Matte Eye Collection, Metal Eyed Eyeliners (Blackout, Hand Cuffs, Twilight, Get Lucky, Plum Crazy, Brown Sugar, Dirt Bag, Shotgun), Mirror Mirror (all), Peach Leopard, Perfect Eyes Eyeliner (all), Perfect Lips, Primed & Poreless (all), Royal Oil, Eye Shadow Single (Label Whore, Blonde Ambition, Neptune), Starry Eyed Eyeliner (all), Tanning Bed in a Tube, Wrinkle Injection, Shadow Brushes, Kabuki Brush, Flatbuki, Powder Pouf, Bronze-Buki, Teddy Bear Hair Brush Set, Petite Pouf.

12. Bourjois Paris does not test on animals.  I absolutely love their primer and some of my favorite bloggers absolutely swear by their Healthy Mix Foundation, which I regret not purchasing when I was in Hong Kong.

13. Laura Mercier is cruelty-free, yay, because I absolutely love their face products.

14. LUSH Cosmetics is another brand popular for being vegan, and they have a lot of fun stuff, too! I honestly have only tried their bath and skin care products, but will soon venture into exploring their new makeup line.

15. Stila Cosmetics in one of my favorite brands and I take a huuuuge sigh of relief to find out that no, they don’t test on animals! Not only are they cruelty-free, they are also eco-friendly (at least much more eco-friendly than other brands’ packaging), which is what drew me to them in the first place.  If you didn’t check out my last post, I was raving about my long-time favorite liquid lip color from them.

16. Burts’ Bees does not test on animals.  Although all natural, they are not vegan. Back in college, I was obsessed with their tinted lip balms!

17. Dr. Jart is a Korean brand that does not test on animals. I haven’t tried out anything from this brand yet, but I think everyone has heard about how good their BB creams are.

*There’s a list of other Vegan and/or Cruelty-free Korean brands here and here, I didn’t list them here because most are not available in the Philippines just yet!

18. Becca Cosmetics are absolutely divine. Kinda pricey though, but divine. Becca is cruelty-free.

19. Sleek Cosmetics is a brand I’ve been seeing around some department stores and never got around to buying.  They are affordable and have a lot of vegan products.

 

20. NEW! Missha is another Korean brand that does not test on animals.  A lot of great things have been said about their BB creams and concealers.

If you’re interested in checking out companies that do test on animals, please refer to this site.

I hope you found this useful! This is a partial list, as there are so manyyy resources popping up and I have to verify these things.  (Plus, sometimes supposedly cruelty-free brands, like Revlon, for example, shift their ‘goals’ and suddenly test on animals! Weird. I hope they shift back to being cruelty-free, I love their stuff!)

If you know of other brands to include in this list, please do let me know! 🙂

14 thoughts on “For your reference, 20 cruelty-free options.

  1. I’ve always wanted to try the OCC line but it is pricey. Didn’t know that wet n’ wild had vegan options! That is great because they are more in my budget…I will have to check it out.

  2. what a perfect post !! Very helpful. I recently got into buying friendly brands too… after finding out some of my faves test on animals 😦
    such a shame!
    But hopefully if they realize that they are losing customers over it and we make enough noise, some of these brands will change their ways!!

    🙂

  3. I’ve been trying not to buy non-CF brands, but I find it to be a waste to throw away the ones I do have. What’s your personal stand on CF products? Some companies like MAC don’t usually test, but choose to do so when mandated by law, e.g. as it’s required by China in order to sell there. Some companies like NARS and Urban Decay are CF but have a parent company (i.e. Shiseido, Estée Lauder) who tests.

    • I find it a waste to throw the ones I already have, too (because well, throwing away isn’t an eco friendly solution either). Yeah MAC is on a weird stand abt CF (and I just found out MUFE too!). I guess this post is kind of my ‘sweeping declaration’: that I will no longer support cosmetic products that aren’t CF! It would be awesome if us bloggers support each other too, because it is kind of a hard thing to do, with all these nice products I can’t get to try out anymore, only co-bloggers would understand how it is. I guess I’ll still support companies like NARS and Urban Decay, hoping that their parent companies see the support not only for the quality of the products but because they are CF and/or vegan, and hope to the universe that they follow suit! 🙂

      • Yup, my thoughts exactly! 🙂 It’s so sad, seeing the bunnies’ eyes after testing. 😦 I can’t believe people still do that when there are many other means.

  4. This is an extensive list, more complete than most ones I’ve seen. Great work. Its interesting to see some brands I own products by, that I didn’t know were CF 🙂

Leave a Reply

