New stuff, first impressions.

This was supposed to be a “This Just In” post but the past few weeks have just been insane.  Now that things are becoming a little more sane, I have found the time to share these new things I’ve recently acquired mostly  from Bon Marche, and with first impressions, too, as I was able to use them before finally finding the time to post this!

DW-DSCN4952

From top to bottom:

1.  I finally purchased something from local brand Happy Skin!  I needed a new eyebrow product that I could just toss in my makeup bag. I feel like their Eye Love View Pencil & Marker Eyebrow Duo is perfect for that purpose! I got the shade Chic Brown. This eyebrow duo is perfect for traveling and I feel like having well-groomed eyebrows is easier with this around. The company claims this product to be ‘smudge-proof and water-resistant’,and that is lasts for ’24 hours’, which I have yet to test.  It has stay put well on my brows perfectly well though.

2. Bon Marche sent me a free tube of Rimmel’s Show Off Lip Lacquer in Big Bang, as an apology for the broken (and heartbreaking) Sonia Kashuk quad I ordered last month. I’ve always wondered about this product, reading so many mixed reviews about it.  A lot of people complain about the scent and I think I may have traced what it smells like: it smells like a cross between an overripe watermelon and cucumber.  I know because I was on a fruit water binge last summer and one time I may have left these two fruits waaaaayyy too long in the water and it smelled exactly like this lip lacquer.  It’s not the worst scent in the world but it’s not pleasant either.  I personally wouldn’t have picked up this particular shade as it is more of a pinky red on me, which isn’t the type of red I’d usually go for (I usually go for brick reds or deep, deep ones).  The pigmentation is incredible though!  But it transfers onto everything! I feel like I’d enjoy this product more in a different shade. But it was free, so all is well!

3. I was so in love with Sonia Kashuk’s Textured Cocoa Quad that I decided to get my hands on another Sonia Kashuk eye palette.  This time I got the Perfectly Neutral Palette which features six shades.  It has a matte cream one, some slightly satin champagne and taupe ones, some medium browns and a dark brown.  Because I was so pleasantly surprised and overwhelmed by how awesome the Textured Cocoa Quad was, I must say I am a tad underwhelmed by this one.  These shades aren’t as pigmented nor any bit as creamy as the quad but certainly good for rather subtle eye looks, if you’re into that.  They’re not bad, honestly, but they’re not as incredible as the Textured Quads.  I recommend trying out the Textured Quads more–and I just saw that Bon Marche restocked them, so go go go!!

4. This was the one I was most excited about: Sonia Kashuk’s Chic Luminosity Bronzer in 52 Glisten.  It kind of looks pretty intense on the pan and I literally gulped when I saw it: do I want to be this gold? I was pleasantly surprised when I tried it on though, it was a beautiful summer tan than a too-intense-gold, which I feared it would be. Turns out, it isn’t as pigmented as it seems, which is a good thing for products like these.  I applied it on my face on areas the sun would normally hit–lightly on my forehead, slightly contoured under my cheekbones, my chin, my nose–with a stippling brush.  The peachy blush is beautiful as well!  Sometimes I swirl the brush on both and just use it as a blush.  I’ve also been using bronze shade as an eyeshadow–I apply it with my ring finger for more intensity and it turns out far better than the shades in the Perfectly Neutral Palette.  I’m pretty obsessed with this.

Have you tried any of these? How’d you like them? Also, which Rimmel Show Off shades have you enjoyed?

 

Sonia Kashuk is cruelty-free, and I think Happy Skin is (but let me get back to you on that), while Rimmel is not.

6 thoughts on “New stuff, first impressions.

Leave a Reply

