This just in: Koh Gen Do Aqua Foundation and its potential for HG status

DW-DSCN4115So I walked in the Beauty Bar at Rockwell one day to find out that Koh Gen Do foundations were on sale (and they still are–go, now!). A thud in my chest, a gasp, but I was trying to be nonchalant, really.  I’ve been hearing so many good things about this brand but it was always way above my budget–Php2,500 for foundation seemed too much for me. But it was 50% off. You have to be proud of my restraint, really, because I walked away that day, as fast as I can.

The man friend and I took a trip around Laguna and somehow we ended up at the Sta. Rosa Outlet place, and I looked for this at their Beauty Bar branch. Apparently it was only sold in Metro Manila. Then I looked for it at the Beauty Bar in Gateway Mall–apparently Koh Gen Do wasn’t sold there, too. Like a crazed woman, I went back to Rockwell, shamelessly giving in.

DW-DSCN4099Ahh, that sleek black box. Koh Gen Do Aqua Foundation with SPF 15 PA ++.

DW-DSCN4113This line has 8 shades, I believe–the PKs pink-toned, while the OCs, yellow-toned.  While the SA insisted that OC-1 best suited my face, I had to remember that my face is almost always lighter than the rest of my body, moreso now that I use the Maracuja Oil (please refer to the last post).  There were only two OC colors, and both of which seem rather far apart from each other in terms of shade.  OC-1 was lighter, a bit close to my face shade but lighter, I think. OC-2 was two or three shades darker. I chose OC-2 because I’ve been hating the fact that I always have to struggle with the fact that I might look like I have too heavy and too light foundation on, even without actually having foundation on my face. It turned out to be a pretty good match, I think. But then again, I just bought this the other day.

DW-DSCN4117DW-DSCN4121Koh Gen Do’s Aqua Foundation comes in a sturdy frosted glass bottle with a pump–hurrah! I love the heavy feel of the bottle. This foundation promises to provide “sheer flawless finish that minimizes pores and imperfections”.

This is a water-based foundation apparently containing the “purest mineral-rich deep sea waters of Rausu, Japan” together with “superbly moisturizing White Birch Sap” that keeps skin soft and clear.

Beautiful promises, really, but what strikes me the most is this promise written here:

DW-DSCN4129On the right side, you’ll see Koh Gen Do’s promise number one: No animal testing.  I am in love with this product now.

DW-DSCN4125This is OC-2 on my hands, which looks rather dark at first but blends out beautifully. I know this shade will be even more perfect with summer just a couple of months away. The foundation has a watery consistency and feels very soft and satin-y. I detect nothing sparkly in there, just the right amount of sheen. It also does not contain artificial colors, fragrance, petroleum based mineral oil or parabens.

I’m really excited to about this foundation and I’ll be wearing this on Saturday, for a tattoo session in the morning to a gig/tattoo session at night and I’ll let you know how it fares!

Have you tried anything from Koh Gen Do? How was your experience with the brand?

 

 

 

11 thoughts on “This just in: Koh Gen Do Aqua Foundation and its potential for HG status

  1. I scored one from the sale too! :) I’ve been wanting to try this for so long and when I’ve read from the other blogs tgat I follow that It’s on sale, I went for it like a crazy woman. Haha! It was love at first try (if there’s such a word) Haha! I seriously love it. It’s like my skin, but waaaaayyyy better. :)

    P.S. I’ve been following your blog since forever and it’s my first time to leave a comment.

    • Yay to us for scoring this at 50% off! Haha! I agree, it really was love at first try–wearing it now and I feel like my skin is in its best condition. :)

      p.s. Yay thanks for commenting, means a lot! :)

  2. Pingback: December and January Favorites! | dandelion whiskers

  3. At 50% off, it’s worth it if there’s room in the budget. I used this for 7 consecutive days, yet I didn’t get any breakouts. Couldn’t believe my eyes as I always thought foundations were notorious for heavy, clogging formulations. :) I skipped the powder except for tiny dabs on my slightly oily T-zone. I’m a believer. :D

Leave a Reply

