Review: Tarte’s Thoughtful Treasures Set

Hello, I am still alive, despite work trying to eat me up. Today I really didn’t feel like working, so I decided to take the morning off (perks of working freelance) to just talk about one of the many purchases I did since December.

Instagram was literally filled with accounts that sold Sephora holidays beauty sets, which I’ve always wanted to get my hands on, and which always seem to be worth the price. The difficult one was choosing which one(s) to get but I always thought that it was a shame that I’ve never tried any Tarte product before, given that they are cruelty-free and apparently of good quality. So I ordered their Thoughtful Treasures Bestsellers Set that includes three things I’ve always been curious about: first of all, the .05 oz Amazonian Clay 12-Hour Blush in  Thankful, a .23 oz of the Maracuja Oil, and the Tarte Energy Lipsurgence Skintuitive Lip Tint. Tarte products are kind of pricey so for the Php1,300 price tag (this retails for only $19 at Sephora though) I thought this was a steal.

output_Sb9zZg

I ordered this package from @makeuphaul_ph on Instagram. They also sent in a sample size of Calvin Klein’s Down Town perfume, which is described as “fresh florals and aromatic woods capture the essence of the confident woman”. What. But it smells pretty ok actually. I wouldn’t necessarily buy it for myself but I’m always pleased by a freebie.

DW-DSCN3657

 

DW-DSCN3655The Tarte Thoughtful Treasures set comes in a festive beautiful box, and like freebies, I always appreciate good packaging.

 

DW-DSCN3660All three products included in the set are travel-size but having used them since December I think I can say that these look that they will last a long time.

DW-DSCN3662I wasn’t too sure about this Maracuja Oil at first. I’ve heard people mention it here and there but never really knew what it was for, what it came from, how it fares to other beauty oils. To tell you the truth, I’ve been using it since I got it but only am reading up on it now. So here it goes: “This undiluted organic and moisturizing maracuja oil quickly absorbs for firmer, brighter, smoother skin. Pure maracuja oil is rich in vitamin C, so skin appears instantly brighter and more radiant. The oil is also a source of essential fatty acids (EFAs), a requirement for healthy skin cells that the body cannot produce on its own. EFA deficiency can result in the breakdown of essential skin cells which causes skin to appear dry and aged. By supplementing skin with pure maracuja oil, you are infusing life back into dull skin and replenishing EFAs to rapidly rebuild and repair. This potent antiaging elixir that has anti-inflammatory benefits promotes active skin recovery and delivers maximum hydration without any greasy or filmy feel.”

SO THAT EXPLAINS WHY MY FACE IS GETTING BRIGHTER/I NEED NEW FOUNDATION. I am not kidding you, I just read up on it now. Prior to reading this, I did feel like it was making me skin clearer and well, brighter. I shunned the thought of it making my face ‘brighter’ because I did not know oils did that. Apparently this does.

In the Tarte website they also write:

“In a 6 week consumer use study:
-96% of women saw an overall visible improvement in skin
-91% of women saw a reduction in fine lines and wrinkles
-94% of women saw a visible improvement in skin texture
-94% of women thought skin appeared renewed and rejuvenated.”

And I feel like I can attest to this.  I stopped using my Argan Oil and my Egyptian Magic Cream as my nighttime elixirs and used the Maracuja oil instead. I’m not saying this is better than my Argan oil or vice versa, but I feel like there is a difference in the results they produce.  While this isn’t as hydrating as Argan oil (or maybe it’s the oddly chilly weather we’re experiencing in the Philippines right now), I feel like the Maracuja oil makes my skin feel…younger. I’m turning 30 this year and man do I need this.

I also love the packaging, from the purple glass bottle to the dropper (the golden button on top releases exactly a drop per push). I’ve also been using it non-stop and have not seen a significant decrease in the contents of the bottle. So I’m hoping this goes a long way!

DW-DSCN3668DW-DSCN3673The Tarte Amazonian Clay 12-hour blush comes in a shade called Thankful, which I would describe as a ‘wholesome, fresh pink’. I don’t think the blush is extraordinary texture-wise (a bit grittier than expected, but not annoyingly so) but that is where its promise for good color pay-off and staying power come in. I apply this with a stippling brush, ever so lightly and the color does pop and stays on a good, long time. I like this a lot.

 

DW-DSCN3676

DW-DSCN3686The Lipsurgence Skintuitive Lip Tint “delivers a personalized shade of pink and a proprietary blend of plant bionutrients, vitamins, and essential oils.” The lip tint bullet looks rather transparent but when applied on to the lips (or skin) creates a supposedly unique shade of pink. This goes on sheer but is buildable.

As usual, I love lip products that come in crayon-type forms and I find that this is a handy product to have in your purse. There isn’t much need to apply this with a mirror, and it comes in a very wearable, easy shade. To be quite honest, out of the three products in the set, this didn’t wow me the most–I mean, that maracuja oil was just incredible! And the Amazonian Clay blush was beautiful! This one was…nice, but not to the point that you actually need this in your life, you know what I mean? I like it nonetheless. Am I being weird?

Anyway, here’s what the lip tint looks like on me:

DW-DSCN3694

To sum it up, I liked this set a lot, and I feel like it is a good way to ease into the brand, if you haven’t tried anything from them before just like me. I also feel like like these products will really last you a long time, even if they come in travel sizes and are therefore really worth it. I’ve come to equate the holidays with Sephora exclusive sets, sigh.

So there. I missed writing about these things! How are you?

 

4 thoughts on “Review: Tarte’s Thoughtful Treasures Set

  1. Pingback: This just in: Koh Gen Do Aqua Foundation and its potential for HG status | dandelion whiskers

  2. Pingback: December and January Favorites! | dandelion whiskers

Leave a Reply

