My 2013 favorites!

Hello loves! Happy new year! I ended 2013 working and started it with more work and thus found time only today to finally catch up here. This is my first time doing this–I started this blog late in November 2012 and never got to ’round up’ favorites for that year–and so, here it is: My 2013 favorites!

This roundup is by no means complete in terms of category; I didn’t find favorites in all categories this year (nor any year ever, actually).  And because I began my cruelty-free oath mid-year, you’ll find that some favorites aren’t CF. I’ve also been gifted at one point or another, non-CF products which turned out to be pretty awesome. Oh and favorites aren’t necessarily new products, some are actually products that I’ve loved for so many years now. So…I shall begin.

 

DW-DSCN3918Argan Oil–not this brand in particular, but the pure Argan oil in general. I love this on my hair and as my nighttime moisturizer! I also like having shiny shoulders (does anyone else here like having shiny shoulders?) and I use it for that, too.

DW-DSCN3938Yadah Oh My Sun Block is the tops. It doesn’t leave a white cast on my face, keeps my face matte and fresh looking and also doesn’t hurt the wallet.

DW-DSCN3948This will probably make you gasp, but, I’ve only had one foundation since I began this blog and I loved it so much I didn’t find any reason to go out and buy another: L’Oreal True Match Super Blendable Liquid Foundation. True to its moniker,  it is super blendable and lightweight and I love it so much, but alas, L’oreal isn’t cruelty-free. Goodbye, my love, we have to part ways now (at least, when I completely finish you up).

DW-DSCN3937Despite getting mixed reviews locally, I found that I really really loved this Collection Cosmetics’ Lasting Perfection Concealer! I found that medium really suited my skintone (at least before I took that beach trip) and that it blended well and lasted a long time on my skin. It’s really affordable, too!

DW-DSCN3946I have fond memories of this one because we were in this monastery garden on a cold, cold day in Hong Kong when it rained and we found ourselves running towards the nearest building which turned out to be a mall, which turned out to have a Too Cool for School pop-up shop in it. This was the first thing I purchased in that Hong Kong trip. This stuff is just beautiful and easy to use and the packaging is just lovely. Too Cool for School claims to be cruelty-free, according to my email correspondences with them but I just can’t find an official statement from them online.

DW-DSCN3927Stila’s Convertible Color in Lilium has been a long time favorite of mine. It is a beautiful blush that always looks natural and stays on a long time. Also, this product goes a long way.  This product is perhaps the reason I’ve never bought too much blushers–I’ve been wayyyy contented with this one.

DW-DSCN3973The bronzer I’ve reach for the most is Nyx’s Rouge Cream Blush in 12 Bronze Goddess. It is very easy to apply, super blendable and sort of makes me feel like I have a JLo tan hahahaha. Seriously, I love this stuff.

DW-DSCN3979Mikyajy Canyon Brown Shadow + Tony Moly 7 Day Tattoo Brow Liner + Nichido Clear Eyebrow Gel = FTW!

DW-DSCN3929The Balm’s Shady Lady Single eyeshadows are the bomb. They are buttery and pigmented and smooth and beautiful. I’ve raved about them quite a bit in 2013 and I’ll continue to rave about them! I only have two, but these are enough to convince me that I am quite correct in loving them. Between the two, I think I am more in love with this green-ish shade called ‘All About Alex‘.

DW-DSCN3983Stila’s In the Garden Palette is a very versatile one–there are a lot of neutral in here, and lot of jewel-toned shades, too.  I feel like this palette works wonders day or night. The eyeliner that comes with the palette is just gorgeous and stays on the lids and waterline a really, really long time.

DW-DSCN3952Estee Lauder’s Sumptuous Extreme Mash Multiplying Mascara in Extreme Black is gorgeous–it gives my lashes a natural looking flutter, if that makes any sense. Like I woke up with beautiful, long lashes. I like that it doesn’t smudge on me as well, even if it isn’t waterproof. Sadly I’m almost out of it and Estee Lauder isn’t CF, so I’m on the lookout for a CF counterpart.

DW-DSCN3941Lucas’ Papaw Ointment has been a staple in my makeup and toiletry bags this year. I slather some on my lips at night before I sleep and I always wake up with supple, moisturized lips.

DW-DSCN3934Revlon’s Just Bitten Kissable Balm Stain in Honey is the most convenient lip product I had in my makeup bag. The shade, the formulation–these just make this product a staple. I don’t need a mirror to put this on, I don’t even need a mood to put this on.  When all else failed, in times of doubt, I had this lip product to put on. Revlon isn’t CF, so as soon as I use this up, there will be no more repurchasing of this. On the bright side, I’ve seen quite a number of CF brands release possible dupes of this, so hurrah!

DW-DSCN3990Covergirl’s Lip Perfection Lipstick in Heavenly is just the perfect everyday pink lipstick. I feel that it’ll suit most skin tones, and it is easy to apply–it glides super smooth and is just the right consistency. It also stays on a long time. I love it so much but I will have to part ways with it because Covergirl isn’t CF. I was just thinking, maybe if we write to Ellen De Generes, their vegan endorser, to maybe call on Covergirl’s non-CF ways? Maybe changes will happen? Maybe? I love this lipstick, huhu.

DW-DSCN3955The Nyx Black Label Lipstick in 167 Natural is a revelation. In fact, I touted it to be a ‘perfect combination of the best nude and MLBB shade for me’. I love this sooo much! The scent, which sort of smells like Diptyque’s Oyedo (which I got obsessed with half of the year, which also is in fact a runner up for the best scent category but let’s go there later); the shade which I can’t get enough of; how comfortable it feels on my lips!

DW-DSCN3960This that converted me towards lip gloss fascination: The Face Shop’s Lovely Me:Ex I Love Pure Color Pure My Lips in Juicy Peach. I’ve tried other quite good glosses after this but I always will have a good bond with this one. I love the pigmentation and how comfortable it felt on my lips. I also didn’t expect it to last long on my lips as most glosses don’t, but it does stay on a long time, too! The Face Shop is not CF though and I wish they’d follow the ‘conversions’ of other Korean brands like Etude and Tony Moly!

DW-DSCN3963Mac’s Lady Danger is the one I always go to when I’m feeling down/seeking confidence/just needing to feel better. And it does help me. Surprisingly, I didn’t blog too much about it! Maybe because when I put this on, I just go right out the door and show the world how confident I am with snaps in Z formation and then I forget to write all about it. Hahahaha. Dammit MAC, why musn’t you be CF? Please be a good company and be CF in 2014? :)

DW-DSCN3967Lime Crime’s Velvetines in Red Velvet is my favorite red. That color! The opacity! The staying power! And it’s from a vegan braaaanddd!! Thank you, Lime Crime!

DW-DSCN3970Now I’m not one to purchase powders, really, much less splurge on it. But when I saw and heard of Hourglass’ Ambient Lighting Palette, I saw a new chapter in this affair with makeup. This is by far my favorite new discovery of the year, and perhaps my best splurge ever. I haven’t gone out without using this since I got it and I feel…revitalized! I haven’t done a proper review of this since I got this only in December but my daily usage must be enough for me to say something worthy about it. Will give you a review soon!

DW-DSCN3986Cyber Colors Gentle Eye Makeup Remover gets the job done. It is oil based, feels lightweight on the face and I always feel like I have better skin after using it. I actually haven’t done my research on whether Cyber Color is CF or not.

DW-DSCN3924I wasn’t much of nail polish person until I tried out the formula and brush on Wet n Wild’s Megalast nail colors. These stay on a looong looong time and the brush that comes with it just makes the job much much easier.

DW-DSCN3914It was quite hard to narrow down my favorite fragrances for last year because I was quite playful with my fragrances in 2013.  In the previous years I’d usually stick with one scent for a really long time, but I was quite frisky in 2013. I reviewed my posts and I guess the ones I mentioned the most, and those that I seemed to wear almost the entire year were Acca Kappa’s Muschio Bianco and Fresh Brown Sugar which, when you think about it, are quite far off from each other. Muschio Bianco is really clean and crisp, whereas Brown Sugar is really playful and sweet. A good manifestation of my ever changing moods, I guess.

What were you favorites for 2013?

 

 

 

 

13 thoughts on “My 2013 favorites!

  1. My shampoo, conditioner, and facial wash brand is Loreal. I find it to be a great brand so I’m sure I’ll love the Loreal foundation, too! Great review, Wiji! Sayang I didn’t get to see you when you were in La Union just recently. My getting sick came at the wrong time. Sigh. Anyway, I’m glad I still get to see updates from you from different social media sites. Miss you! ♡ :-)

  2. Pingback: HG: Nyx Butter Glosses | dandelion whiskers

  3. I LOVE it that your favorite foundation is so inexpensive! Lo’real True Match…how does it compare to Revlon Nearly Naked? Something I Just picked up on impulse and love! But I wish it was a tad more for dry skin – not a big deal I just slather on the moisture first. How about True Match?

    • I actually just borrowed/stole some of my mom’s Nearly Naked last December and I feel like True Match is more buildable in terms of coverage…I do have combination/oily skin though so I don’t really know how True Match fares for dry skin, plus! I live in a tropical country so both foundations were rather ‘dewy’ on me! Haha :) I think you’re going to love True Match though!

      • Thanks! There’s always moisturizer and I LOVE coverage. My trying to be TM days are over. I need coverage man! Too many scars and just..pink spots. I wish people would stop being down on foundation every day girls. I just feel more like me. :)

  4. love love love my hourgladd ambience lighting palette too! also, i’ve been lusting over those limecrime velvetines! I’m just trying to find the best price online because I have feeling cheated when I find out that other stores sell the same product at a cheaper price!

Leave a Reply

